Events and Marketing

In the marketing world, what exactly is an Event? I would describe Events as anything that encourages participation from the audience, either by viewing, attending, or actively engaging in the event. The exact purpose of the even can vary. It can be for advertisement, it can be to establish communication with the customer base, or simply to be noticed by a larger community. Events are important to any brand or business. They are an excellent way to make their name known are draw in their potential audience. This can be done in real life or in virtual space. Live streams are an excellent example of this as well as being one of the most commonly used. I’ve participated in my share of public events, ranging from anywhere to an informal card game tournament to the large scale gamer’s convention in Seattle; PAX West. Though for the most part, I tend to stick to smaller and less formal events, as being a bit of an introvert, I have trouble with large crowds. I typically like to attend events that focus on entertainment and sometimes educational. Though sometimes they can be the same thing, like when I attended a Medieval Fair with some friends. Events can take on all types and forms, but their importance to any growing brand or business cannot be underestimated.

 

Leave a comment